Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Third Party Candidates and Primary Hopefuls

Third Party Candidates and Primary Hopefuls Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Third Party Candidates and Primary Hopefuls, page 1

The following buttons represent a sampling of unsuccessful Third Party candidates and primary election hopefuls:

Henry Cabot Lodge, Jr. (1902-1985) had served in the U.S. Senate from 1937 to 1944, and again from 1947 to 1953. He was Richard Nixon's Vice-presidential running-mate in their unsuccessful 1960 campaign for the White House. At the same time Lodge was serving as an Ambassador to the Republic of Vietnam in 1964, he became a surprise winner as a write-in candidate in the New Hampshire Republican Primary of that year. Lodge would win two additional primaries in the Northeast as a write-in candidate. The 1964 Republican Party nomination for President, however, was eventually secured by Arizona Senator Barry Goldwater.

Norman Thomas (1884-1968) was the unsuccessful Socialist Party candidate for President of the United States six times. This was in the elections of 1928, 1932, 1936, 1940, 1944, and 1948. The button shown here is from the 1936 election. George A. Nelson was his running-mate, and together they captured 187,910 votes, or 0.41% of the total votes cast.

Robert A. Taft (1889-1953), a U.S. Senator from Ohio, unsuccessfully sought the Republican Party's nomination in 1940, 1948, and 1952.

Henry Krajewski (1912-1966) ran for President of the United States in 1952 as the Poor Man's candidate, and as the American Third Party nominee in 1956. He received 4,203 and 1,892 votes in each of these elections, respectively.

Lawrence "Lar" Daly (1912-1979) was the 1960 Presidential nominee of both the Tax Cut Party and the America First Party. Lar received 1,767 votes.

Eldridge Cleaver (1935-1998) was a black activist who joined the Black Panther Party soon after they were formed in 1966. In 1968 he ran for President of the United States on the Peace and Freedom Party (founded 1967) ticket. Cleaver received 36,385 votes.

Henry "Scoop" Jackson (1912-1983) represented the State of Washington in the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate. He was a Democratic Party hopeful for the nomination in both 1972 and 1976.

Ronald W. Reagan (1911-2004) was a former actor and Governor of California. He was elected Governor in 1966, and re-elected in 1970. Reagan unsuccessfully sought the Republican Party's presidential nomination in both 1968 and 1976. He was successful in 1980, and went on to win the general election serving as President from 1981 to 1989. Originally a Democrat, he had moved to the Republican Party in 1962.

Paul "Pete" McCloskey (1927- ) was a 1972 Republican Party Presidential nominee hopeful. He served in the U.S. House of Representatives from California from 1967 to 1983.

Clifton DeBerry (1924-2006) was the Presidential nominee of the Socialist Workers Party in both 1964 and in 1980.

Gus Hall (1910-2000) was a Communist Party USA (CPUSA) candidate who ran in four Presidential elections. These were in 1972, 1976, 1980, and 1984. His Vice-presidential running-mate in the 1972 and 1976 campaigns was Jarvis Tyner (1941- ), and in 1980 and 1984 it was Angela Davis (1944- ). In the 1980 and 1984 campaigns, Hall received 43,871 and 36,386 votes, respectively.

Dennis L. Serrette was the Independent Alliance Party candidate for President in 1984.

James Terry Sanford (1917-1998) served as the Governor of North Carolina from 1961 to 1965 and was also a U.S. Senator from North Carolina serving from 1986 to 1993. He made unsuccessful bids for the Democratic Party's nomination for President in both 1972 and 1976.

Benjamin C. Bubar (1917-1995) was the Prohibition Party's Presidential nominee in 1976, and again in 1980. The Prohibition Party was founded in 1869 and considers itself, "America's Oldest Third Party."

E. Harold Munn (1903-1992) received 23,267 votes as the Prohibition Party's Presidential nominee in 1964. He ran again in 1968 and 1972. The Prohibition Party was founded in 1869 and considers itself, "America's Oldest Third Party."

Reuben Askew (1928- ) served as Governor of Florida from 1971 to 1979 and unsuccessfully sought the 1984 Democratic Party nomination for President.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, United States, History; Presidents, United States, Election, History.

United States, 1896-2008

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image