Cumberland, Maryland (Hotels)
had its most hotels. This was mostly due to so many travelling salesmen being on the road. This was before automobiles were plentiful. Also, at this time, there were no motels on the highways in or out of Cumberland. Also, many married couples would come to Cumberland to spend their honeymoon. During a 24-hour period in the 1920's, twenty-two passenger trains came into and out of Cumberland.
3. What was unique about the Queen City Hotel? When was it built and what purposes did it serve?
One of the leading and best known of the hotels was the B&O Railroad Queen City Hotel. On April 12, 1871, excavating began for the Queen City Hotel. The building, when finished, was 280 feet long, 175 feet deep, and was four stories in height. The total area occupied by the building was 49, 000 square feet. In December 1871, the roof was put on the hotel building. The hotel opened in the Fall of 1872. The hotel contained 174 rooms, 203 doors, and 294 windows. The center part of the building was used for a dining room and for a ballroom. The Allegany County Ball each New Year's Eve was held in the ballroom for many years. Besides the main dining room, it had a restaurant, billiard room, laundry, ice house, and in the rear of the hotel was the boiler house to heat the hotel. Coal was used for fuel. The grounds from the east end of the hotel to Williams Street were ornamented with fountains, evergreen trees, shrubbery, walking paths, and tennis courts. The porch ran the entire length of the hotel. Many people from the large cities east and west of Cumberland would come to the Queen City Hotel to spend vacations, as did many honeymooners.
Miller, Herman J.
Mayor and Council, City of Cumberland
27 x 20 cms
Cumberland (Md.), history
Cumberland (Md.), 1700-1976