Cumberland, Maryland (Black Population)
S. S. Crockett as Pastor. The McKendree Methodist Episcopal Church was located on North Centre Street near Gramlich Alley, Reverend D. W. Shaw, Pastor. The Metropolitan Bethel Methodist Episcopal Church at the corner of Decatur and Frederick Streets had Reverend P. W. Wortham as Pastor.
In 1909, the Ebenezer Baptist Church, at 8 Cumberland Street, had Reverend George W. Lucas as Pastor. The McKendree Methodist Episcopal Church at 155 North Centre Street had Reverend William N. Holt as Pastor. St. Phillips Church (Protestant Episcopal) was located on Smallwood Street near Washington Street.
By 1977, St. Phillips Church had been torn down and the congregation had merged with other protestant Episcopal churches. The McKendree Methodist Episcopal Church building, at 155 North Centre Street, was sold to the Centre Street United Methodist Church and was razed. The colored church members built a new church on Paca Street. The Metropolitan African Methodist Episcopal Church, at the corner of Decatur and Frederick Streets, has been put on the National Register of Historical Places. A church on pine Avenue is called the Faith Deliverance Church and Reverend Mac Far land is Pastor.
On March 23, 1899, Lawrence Dennis, the five year old boy preacher, preached at Metropolitan African Methodist Episcopal Church. Admission was twenty-five cents. Reserved seats were thirty-five cents.
On Sunday, July 11, 1899, Peter Fagan conducted an experience meeting at the Union Grove Camp Ground. Six hundred attended.
On October 17, 1920, Peter Fagan, well known local black evangelist, held an afternoon service on Town Hill.
Miller, Herman J.
Mayor and Council, City of Cumberland
27 x 20 cms
Cumberland (Md.), history
Cumberland (Md.), 1700-1976