Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 18

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Victor Cushwa, a Democrat, was appointed to the Maryland State Senate, Legislative District 2, in 1978. At that time this district represented parts of both Allegany and Garrett Counties. Cushwa was officially elected later that same year, and re-elected to the State Senate serving until June 1990 when he resigned to accept an appointment to the Public Service Commission. The last six months of his term of office were filled by the appointment of his wife, Patricia K. Cushwa. Patricia Cushwa was herself unsuccessful in her November 1990 bid for election to the State Senate. Victor Cushwa would pass away the following year, 1991. A re-election slogan for State Senator Victor Cushwa was “Our Voice of Experience in Annapolis.”

Noel Speir Cook (1905-2001), a Republican, was a long time member of the Maryland House of Delegates representing Allegany County and serving in that capacity from 1947-1969. Cook was then appointed Maryland State Senator from Legislative District 1-C during a January 1969 Special Session and remained in office until 1970. Between 1967 and 1974 this district represented all of Garrett County and a portion of Allegany.

Casper R. Taylor Jr. , a Democrat, was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1974 and served as a Delegate representing District 1-C between the years 1975-2003. The matchbook displayed here is from his first campaign wherein he stated, “It’s Time for Cas Taylor.” Taylor would eventually become Speaker of the Maryland House of Delegates in 1994 and served in the leadership role until January 2003. Taylor was defeated in his 2002 bid for re-election by LeRoy Myers, Jr., a Republican, due in large part to a redrawn legislative district boundary.

Lester “Buster” Reed, a Republican, was a long-time member of the Maryland House of Delegates representing Allegany County, District 1-B. He was first elected to the House of Delegates in 1938, took office in 1939 and continued to be re-elected serving through 1974.

John N. Bambacus, a Republican, was elected to the Maryland State Senate from District 1 in 1982 and served in the Maryland State Senate from 1983-1991. He was later elected Mayor of Frostburg where in served in that capacity from 1994-2002. This particular campaign item, a matchbook, is from an early unsuccessful campaign for the Maryland House of Delegates, District 1-B.

Edward T. Evans, Jr. , a Republican, represented Allegany County, District 2-A in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1965 through 1970.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image