Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Maryland Senatorial 4

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


James Glenn Beall, a Republican, was born in Frostburg, Maryland. He served in the Maryland State Senate from 1930 through 1934. Beall was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives serving from 1943 to 1953. He was then elected to the U.S. Senate from Maryland in 1952 and served in that position from 1953 until 1965. James Glenn Beall was defeated in his bid for reelection in 1964 by the Democrat, Joseph D. Tydings.
The back of the campaign card depicted here reads as follows:

Senator Beall’s Record of Service
22 Years Under the Capitol Dome
There is no substitute for experience in “getting things done” in Washington. By virtue of 5 terms as Congressman, and 2 Terms as U.S. Senator, J. Glenn Beall has achieved seniority in the halls of Congress that is an extremely valuable asset to his state and his constituents.

For many years, Glenn Beall’s office has been Washington headquarters for tens of thousands of Marylanders who need friendly guidance in coping with the complications of doing business with the Federal Government ---something that affects not only business men and their employees, but veterans, dependents of service men, Federal employees, farmers, recipients of Social Security payments and others who have
need of contact with national departments and bureaus.

Bruce Bradley ran for the U.S. Senate from Maryland as an Independent candidate in 1976. The “dollar” bill he handed out noted that “this vote is legal tender for a new kind of politics for Maryland” and that “ultimately it’s a question of conscience.” The back of the dollar bill depicted a map of Maryland showing Bradley’s “person-to-person politics” campaign stops. These extended as far west as Cumberland. Bradley was unsuccessful in the election of November 1976.

Charles McCurdy "Mac" Mathias, Jr., (1922-2010), a Republican, served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1959 to 1960, and was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1960 serving from 1961 through 1969. In 1968, Mathias was elected to the U.S. Senate and served as a Senator from 1969 through 1987. Charles "Mac" Mathias chose not to run for reelection in the 1986 Senatorial campaign.

Benjamin Louis Cardin, a Democrat, served as a member of the Maryland House of Delegates from 1966 to 1986, and as its Speaker from 1979 through 1986. It was in 1986 that he was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, where he served from 1987 to 2007. Ben Cardin was elected to the U.S. Senate from Maryland in 2006, serving from 2007 to the present

Stephen B. Peddicord, a Democrat, was an unsuccessful candidate in the Democratic Primary of 1952 to represent his party in the U.S. Senate race. Peddicord secured 8,620 votes, or just 3.21% of those cast in his loss to George P. Mahoney. Another primary loser was Lansdale G. Sasscer who received 122,679 votes, or 45.74 percent of those cast. Mahoney won 51.05% of the votes in the Democratic Primary but went on to lose to the Republican, James Glenn Beall, Sr. in the General Election.

Blair Lee III, a Democrat, was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates and served from 1954 until 1962. It was then that he made his unsuccessful bid for the U.S. Senate. Blair Lee III would go on to be elected to the Maryland State Senate in 1966, and serve as Lieutenant Governor and Acting Governor of Maryland during the Marvin Mandel administration.

C. Ronald Franks, a Republican, unsuccessfully sought his party’s 1994 nomination for a seat in the U.S. Senate from Maryland. Franks received 38,213 votes, or 17.56% of the total votes case in his loss to William E. Brock.

Blanchard Randall, Jr. , a Republican, would in 1944 unsuccessfully seek his party’s nomination to campaign for the U.S. Senate from Maryland. Prior to that time, in 1935, he was the unsuccessful Republican candidate for Mayor of Baltimore City. Randall had served as President of the Baltimore Chamber of Commerce and was a Trustee of the Enoch Pratt Free Library.

Ovington Eugene Weller (1862-1947), a Republican, was an unsuccessful candidate for Governor in 1915, losing to Emerson Harrington. Weller was elected to the U.S. Senate in 1920, and served from 1921 until 1927. He was an unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1926 losing to Millard E. Tydings.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Maryland, History


Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image