Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Maryland Senatorial 2

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Blair Lee III (1916-1985), a Democrat, was born in Silver Spring, Maryland and is the grandson of Blair Lee I (1857-1944). Blair Lee I was elected to the U.S. Senate in 1913 and served from 1914 through 1917. He has the distinction of being the first U.S. Senator from Maryland elected by popular vote. His grandson, Blair Lee III, was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates and served from 1954 until 1962. It was then that he made his unsuccessful bid for the U.S. Senate. Blair Lee III would go on to be elected to the Maryland State Senate in 1966, and serve as Lieutenant Governor and Acting Governor of Maryland during the Marvin Mandel administration.

Joseph Davies Tydings (1928-2018), a Democrat, attended the public schools of Harford County, Maryland and is the son of former U.S. Senator Millard Evelyn Tydings. An attorney by profession, he served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1955 to 1961. Joe Tydings was elected to the U.S. Senate from Maryland in 1964 and served from 1965 through 1971. He was defeated in the 1970 Senatorial campaign by the Republican, John Glenn Beall, Jr. The LBJ/USA button is from 1964, and promotes Lyndon Baines Johnson for President, Joseph Tydings for Senator, Carlton R. Sickles, and Royce Hanson. Carlton R. Sickles was elected in 1962 as Maryland's Congressman At-large and served in that capacity for two terms until 1967. Royce Hanson ran for the Sixth Congressional District seat in 1964. Although Hanson received 112,410 votes, or 45.52%, he lost to the Republican incumbent, Charles McCurdy "Mac" Mathias Jr. who had received 134,521 votes, or 54.48%.

Charles McCurdy Mathias, Jr. (1922-2010), a Republican, was born in Frederick, Maryland. "Mac" Mathias served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1959 to 1960, and was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1960 serving from 1961 through 1969. In 1968, Mathias was elected to the U.S. Senate and served as a Senator from 1969 through 1987. Charles "Mac" Mathias chose not to run for reelection in the 1986 Senatorial campaign.

John Glenn Beall, Jr. (1927-2006), was born in Cumberland, Maryland. A Republican, he was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1962, re-elected in 1966, and served in that body from 1962 through 1968. He was then elected to the U.S. Congress, representing Maryland's Sixth Congressional District, serving from 1969 to 1971. J. Glenn Beall, Jr. was elected to the U.S. Senate in the 1970 election, and served in the Senate from 1971 to 1977. Beall lost his bid for reelection in 1976 to the Democrat, Paul Sarbanes. A photo button depicting J. Glenn Beall Jr. is displayed on page two of the Maryland Gubernatorial section.

Lawrence G. "Larry" Hogan (1928-2017), a Republican, was elected to the U.S. Congress in 1968, and served from 1969 through 1975. In 1974 he was an unsuccessful candidate for the Republican Gubernatorial nomination, losing to Louise Gore. Hogan then went on to serve as Prince Georges County Executive from 1978 to 1982. It was also in 1982 and as the Republican candidate for the U.S. Senate from Maryland that Hogan was defeated by the Democratic candidate, Paul S. Sarbanes.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Maryland, History


Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image