Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Maryland Gubernatorial 3

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Lawrence "Larry" Hogan (1928-2017), a Republican, was elected to the U.S. Congress in 1968, and served from 1969 through 1975. In 1974 he was an unsuccessful candidate for the Republican Gubernatorial nomination, losing to Louise Gore. His proposed running-mate for Lieutenant Governor was John C. Apostol who served as Mayor of Annapolis from 1973 until 1981. Hogan then went on to serve as Prince Georges County Executive from 1978 to 1982.

Robert A. Pascal (1934- ), a Republican, was elected to the Maryland State Senate in 1970 and served there from 1971 to 1974. At that time he went on to become Anne Arundel County Executive, a position he held from 1974 to 1982. Robert Pascal was the Republican Party's nominee for Governor in 1982. Pascal received 432,826 votes, or 38% of the total votes cast in his 1982 loss to the incumbent, Harry Hughes.

Francis "Frank" Francois (1934- ) served over eighteen years in elected office in Prince George's County, beginning in 1962 and ranging from Chief Judge of the Orphan's Court to the Prince Georges County Council where he served for many years. An engineer by trade, Francois was among several who unsuccessfully sought the Democratic Party's gubernatorial nomination in 1978 but lost to Harry Hughes.

Francis "Bill" Burch (1918-1987) served as the Maryland Attorney General from 1966 through 1978. In 1978 he was one of several who sought the Democratic Party's nomination for Governor, but was defeated in the primary by Harry Hughes.

Wally Orlinsky (1938-2002), or Wally "O" as he was known, was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1966. He was later elected President of the Baltimore City Council but resigned from this position in 1982 as the result of a bribery scandal. Prior to that time he was among those who were defeated in the 1978 Democratic primary by Harry Hughes in a bid to win the party's gubernatorial nomination. Orlinsky was later appointed by Governor William Donald Schaefer to head a state tree-planting program. Orlinsky dubbed it the Tree-Mendous Program and it became amazingly successful.

Blair Lee III (1916-1985), a Democrat, a Democrat, was born in Silver Spring, Maryland and served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1954 through 1962, and the Maryland State Senate from 1966 to 1969. He was then appointed Secretary of State by Governor Marvin Mandel and served in that position until 1971 when Mandel moved to have him assume the office of a Lieutenant Governor. This state office did not exist at that time, and the General Assembly was required to enact a constitutional amendment to create this position. The amendment creating the office of Lieutenant Governor, and Blair Lee III as its first office-holder, was passed by the Maryland voters in the 1970 general election. In 1977, Governor Marvin Mandel notified his Lieutenant Governor, Blair Lee III, that in accordance with State Law, he would be serving as Acting Governor until further notice. Mandel resumed the Governorship two days prior to the end of his second term. Blair Lee III unsuccessfully sought the Democratic gubernatorial nomination in 1978, losing to Harry R. Hughes.

Steny Hoyer (1939- ), a Democrat, was elected to the Maryland State Senate in 1966 and in 1975 was elected President of the Maryland State Senate. In 1978 Hoyer unsuccessfully ran as Acting Governor Blair Lee III's running-mate in the gubernatorial election. They lost to Harry Hughes, and his running-mate, Samuel Bogley (1941- ). Steny Hoyer was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in 1981, and in 2006 became the first Marylander elected to the position of House Majority Leader.

Theodore "Ted" G. Venetoulis served as the Baltimore County Executive from 1974 to 1978. He sought the 1978 Democratic Party's nomination for Governor, but was defeated by Harry Hughes. Venetoulis' running-mate for Lieutenant Governor was Ann Stockett from West Annapolis.

Wilson K. Barnes (1907-1997) served as a Judge on the Supreme Bench of Baltimore City from 1963 to 1964. In 1964 he was appointed to the Maryland Court of Appeals but resigned from that position in 1974. This was in protest of an appointment made by Governor Marvin Mandel of one of his aides to the Court of Appeals. Wilson K. Barnes then sought the Democratic gubernatorial nomination in 1974 but was defeated by Mandel in the primary. His campaign slogan had been, "Maryland is not for sale."

Ross Zimmerman Pierpont (1917-2005) was a member of the Democratic Party until 1970 when he became a Republican. A surgeon by profession, he has run for office in the State of Maryland sixteen times and has spent over $3 million of his own money. This has included candidacies for the Mayor of Baltimore, the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, and primary candidacies for Governor of Maryland. In 1990 he received the endorsement of Congresswoman Helen Delich Bentley (1923- ) in his primary bid against the Republican husband and wife team of William and Lois Shepard. Although he lost, Pierpont did win 60,065 votes, or 47.28% of the votes cast in the Republican Primary. Under the campaign slogan, "S.O.S. - Save Our State", Ross Z. Pierpont again actively sought the Republican Party's nomination for Governor in 2002, this time competing against Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr.

William Donald Schaefer (1921-2011) was born in Baltimore and elected Governor of Maryland in 1986, and served two terms from 1987 through 1995. Following his Governorship, he went on to win election in 1998 as Maryland Comptroller and held that position from 1999 through 2007. Prior to becoming Governor, William Donald Schaefer served on the Baltimore City Council. Elected in 1954, he became Baltimore City Council President in 1967 and held that office through 1971. It was then that he was elected Mayor of the City of Baltimore, a position he held until his tenure as Governor. William Donald Schaefer had won the gubernatorial election in 1986 with 82% of the vote, the highest winning percentage ever in a Maryland state-wide contested election. As Governor, he worked to strengthen Maryland's environmental laws, improve the State's transportation system, and increase aid to public education. Governor Schaefer also worked to unite Maryland into "One Maryland", and devoted resources and his personal energy to every area of the State.

Along with two buttons and a pin are displayed the back and front of a commemorative coin distributed at Governor Schaefer's Second Inauguration on January 16, 1991. The back reads, "People - Caring - Integrity - Service."


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Maryland, History


Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image