Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Maryland Gubernatorial 6

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Parris N. Glendening (1942- ), a Democrat, served on the Hyattsville City Council in 1973, and was then elected as a member of the Prince George's County Council serving from 1974 to 1982. He was elected Prince George's County Executive and served in this capacity from 1982 until 1994. It was in 1994 that Parris N. Glendening was elected Governor of Maryland, a position he held for two terms serving from 1995 to 2003.

Glendening is most noted for his "Smart Growth" initiatives and legislation which remain relevant today and are focused upon the preservation of Maryland's natural resources, open space, and farmland; while at the same time fighting sprawl and revitalizing Maryland's existing urban areas.

Mary H. Boergers(1946- ), a Democrat, represented Montgomery County in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1982 to 1990, and in the State Senate from 1991 through 1994. She unsuccessfully sought the Democratic nomination for Governor in 1994, losing to Parris Glendening.

Ellen Sauerbrey (1937- ), a Republican, was a teacher prior to being elected to the Maryland House of Delegates where she served from 1978 to 1994. In 1994 she was the Republican candidate for Governor and garnered 49.79%, or 702,101 popular votes in an extremely tight race in which she lost by less than one percentage point to the Democratic candidate, Parris Glendening. She was again the Republican nominee against Glendening in 1998, this time securing 44.83% of the state-wide vote. Ellen Sauerbrey went on to become appointed by President George W. Bush as a Representative to the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women, and was later appointed in 2006 as an Assistant Secretary of State dealing with refugee and migration issues.

Kathleen Kennedy Townsend (1951- ) was Parris Glendening's running-mate for Lieutenant Governor in both the 1994 and 1998 gubernatorial campaigns and served as Maryland's Lieutenant Governor from 1995 to 2003. A Democrat, she unsuccessfully sought the Governorship in 2002 but lost to the Republican candidate, Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. The particular button depicted here was sponsored by the American Federation of Teachers (AFT).

Robert L. Ehrlich, Jr. (1957- ), a Republican, was born in Baltimore and was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1986 and served from 1987 through 1994. It was in 1994 that he was elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, an office he held from 1995 to 2003. Robert L. Ehrlich was elected Governor of Maryland in the election of 2002, defeating the Democratic candidate, Kathleen Kennedy Townsend. A major environmental achievement during Ehrlich's term of office was the passage of the Chesapeake Bay Restoration Act. This major piece of legislation has as its goal the annual reduction of millions of pounds of pollution into the Chesapeake Bay. Governor Ehrlich was defeated in his 2006 re-election bid by Martin O'Malley. A button from Ehrlich's January 15, 2003 inauguration is shown on this page, and also depicts Ehrlich's running-mate for Lieutenant Governor, Michael Steele.

Michael S. Steele (1958-) became the first black elected to state-wide office in Maryland. This was in November 2002 when Steele was elected Lieutenant Governor of Maryland, along with Robert L. Ehrlich as Governor. At that time Lieutenant Governor Michael S. Steele was the highest ranking black Republican in the country. Steele served as Lieutenant Governor from 2003 to 2007. He did not join Ehrlich in his 2006 re-election bid, but instead ran his own strong but unsuccessful campaign for the U.S. Senate in 2006. In January 2009 Michael Steele was chosen as the first African-American to serve as Chairman of the Republican National Committee and served in that capacity until 2011.

Douglas M. Duncan (1955- ) served as a member of the Rockville City Council from 1982 through 1987, at which time he was elected Mayor of Rockville, serving through 1993. Doug Duncan, a Democrat, held the office of Montgomery County Executive from 1994 to 2006, and was for a period of time a candidate for the Democratic Party's 2006 gubernatorial nomination.

Martin J. O'Malley (1963- ) was elected to the Baltimore City Council in 1990 and served on the City Council until his election as Mayor of Baltimore in 1998. Mayor O'Malley then became the youngest Mayor in Baltimore city history. Martin O'Malley, a Democrat, defeated Robert Ehrlich in the 2006 gubernatorial election, thus officially becoming Maryland's 61st Governor in 2007 at his inauguration. O'Malley buttons portrayed here include one noting his support from the United Auto Workers (UAW) union, and one with his fellow Democrat, and eventual victorious 2006 candidate for the U.S. Senate from Maryland, Benjamin Cardin (1943- ).

Anthony G. Brown (1961- ) was elected Lieutenant Governor of Maryland, along with Martin O'Malley as Governor, in 2006. He was sworn in as the Lieutenant Governor of Maryland on January 17, 2007. A Democrat, Brown had previously served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1999 until his taking office as Lieutenant Governor. A law graduate of Harvard University, Brown was promoted to the rank of Colonel in the United States Army Reserves in 2007. He was at that time the highest-ranking elected official in the nation who has seen service in Iraq, this being a ten-month tour of duty served during 2004-2005. O'Malley and Brown were re-elected in 2010. Anthony Brown ran for and won the Democratic nomination for Governor in 2014, but lost to the Republican candidate, Larry Hogan, in the November 4, 2014 General Election.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Maryland, History


Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image