Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Library Unit Appointed By Governor, 1960

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Library Unit Appointed By Governor

The seven persons nominated by the Allegany County Board of Commissioners to be members of the board of trustees of the newly-adopted County Library plan have officially been named to the board by Gov. Tawes.

A letter was received today from the governor's office that the seven members, Okey Michael, Westernport, one-year term; W. Wallace McKaig, city, two year term; F. Allan Weatherholt, city, three-year term; John Tucker Mason. Cresaptown, four-year term; Dr. Adam Baer, Frostburg, five-year term; James Alfred Avirett, city, six year term and Mrs. Jeannette C. Johnson, La Vale, seven-year term, have been appointed.

The new program gets underway July 1 and the trustees will organize and start the library system to function. The county commissioners levied funds to start the program and federal aid is also forthcoming.

The City of Cumberland is turning over the Free Public Library and more than 70,000 volumes to the new organization.


Cumberland Evening News


Collection Location:

Public libraries, Maryland, Allegany County; Allegany County Library System (Md.), Anniversaries.

Allegany County (Md,), 1924-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image