Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Maryland Gubernatorial 8

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Robert Woods Merkle, Sr. ran for Governor of Maryland in 1970 as a member of the American Party. He secured 19,184 votes, or 1.97% of the total cast. The election was won by Marvin Mandel, a Democrat, who secured 639,579 votes, or 65.73% of the total. The Republican candidate, C. Stanley Blair, received 314,336 votes, or 32.30%. Established in 1967 and originally known as the American Independent Party, this was succeeded in 1969 by the American Party. The American Party since that time has undergone several transformations and splits.

Addison E. Mullikin, a Republican, ran against Albert C. Ritchie, the Democratic incumbent, in the general election held on November 2, 1926. Mullikin garnered 148,145 votes, or 41.37%, to Ritchie's 207,435 votes, or 57.93% of the total cast. Ritchie won 14 of the 23 counties, as well as Baltimore City. A third candidate, P. Gustave Dill, a Socialist, secured 2,495 votes, less than 1%.

C. Stanley Blair (1927-1980), a Republican, served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1963 to 1967. Charles Stanley Blair then went on to serve as Maryland's Secretary of State from 1967 through 1969. He was the Republican candidate in the 1970 gubernatorial election. At that time he garnered 314,336 votes, or only 32.30% of the popular votes cast in his loss to Marvin Mandel.

Ross Zimmerman Pierpont, a Republican, and as noted elsewhere on this site in more detail has run for political office in the State of Maryland numerous times. This has included candidacies for the Mayor of Baltimore (1971), Delegate to the Republican National Convention from Maryland (1972), the U.S. House of Representatives (1986, 1988), the U.S. Senate (1998), and primary candidacies for Governor of Maryland (1966 [as a Democrat], 1978, 1982, 1990, 2002).

William Donald Schaefer was elected Governor of Maryland in 1986, and served two terms from 1987 through 1995. As illustrated on the button depicted on this page, a favorite motto and slogan of Governor Schaefer's was, "Do It Now". The button also identifies Schaefer's running-mate for Lieutenant Governor, Melvin "Mickey" A. Steinberg.

Kathleen Kennedy Townsend was Parris Glendening's running-mate for Lieutenant Governor in both the 1994 and 1998 gubernatorial campaigns and served as Maryland's Lieutenant Governor from 1995 to 2003. A Democrat, she unsuccessfully sought the Governorship in 2002. This particular Townsend button was sponsored by the United Auto Workers (UAW) union.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Maryland, History


Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image