Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 32

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Kevin Kelly, a Democrat, was first elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1986 and served from 1987 through 1995 when he was unsuccessful in his re-election bid. Kelly was again elected to the House of Delegates, District 1-B, in 1998, and has served in the House of Delegates since 1999. As noted in this August 31, 2010 Cumberland Times-News campaign ad, Kelly promised "Decisive and Responsible Leadership" in his 2010 re-election campaign. In a close contest, Kelly was successful over the Republican challenger, Mary Beth Pirolozzi, in the November 2, 2010 General Election. Kelly was defeated by Jason Buckel, a Republican, in the November 2014 General Election.

Mary Beth Pirolozzi, a Republican, was appointed to fill a vacancy on the Cumberland City Council in September 2007. She was formally elected to the city council in November 2008. With a campaign slogan, "She Can Do It", on May 7, 2010 Pirolozzi announced her candidacy for Maryland House of Delegates, District 1B. She was defeated in a close race by the Democratic incumbent, Kevin Kelly, in the November 2010 General Election. Pirolozzi chose not to run for city council re-election in 2012.

In August 2017 Mary Beth Pirolozzi was appointed by the Allegany County Orphans Court to fill the vacant position of Register of Wills.

Kevin Shaffer, a Democrat, was an unsuccessful candidate for the Maryland House of Delegates, District 1B. Prior to his loss in the Democratic Primary, Shaffer had noted his belief in term limits and had promised to serve only two terms if elected. Shaffer ran for, and was defeated in his bid for Allegany County Commissioner in 2014.

The pin entitled, General Election, Maryland, November 2, 2010, was issued to and worn by all the Allegany County Election Poll Workers on the day of the General Election. It features an American flag and the American Bald Eagle.

George C. Edwards, a Republican, was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1982 and served in the House of Delegates from 1983-2007. In 2006, Edwards was elected to the Maryland State Senate where he has represented District 1 since 2007. District 1 comprises all of Allegany and Garrett Counties as well as a portion of Washington County. He ran unopposed and was re-elected in 2010. This "thank you" appeared in the November 4, 2010 issue of The Republican newspaper. Edwards ran unopposed in both the primary and general election in his 2014 State Senate re-election.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image