Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 34

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Ed Hedrick was elected to the Cumberland City Council in 2000, and was re-elected in 2004. He chose not to seek re-election in 2008 for a third four-year term and left office in 2009. This billboard, which depicts both Hedrick and City Councilman Terry Rephann, was located at the entrance to the Narrows at the edge of the Cumberland city limits. The photograph was taken in October 2004. Rephann served from July 2000 to September 2007 when he resigned to accept employment out of the area. Hedrick later ran for Allegany County Commissioner but was defeated in the 2010 General Election.

Brian K. Grim was elected to the Cumberland City Council in 2008. Though he placed second in the Primary Election, Grim was the top vote-getter for the city council in the following General Election. In March 2010 Grim officially filed papers to run for the office of Mayor of the City of Cumberland. These Grim for Mayor buttons were distributed at the Sixth Annual Western Maryland Democratic Summit held in Allegany County on April 23-24, 2010. The city held its primary on September 14, 2010. Grim secured 3,683 votes and won over two opponents in the November 2, 2010 General Election. Grim, along with the successful city council candidates, took office on January 3, 2011. Grim was re-elected Mayor of Cumberland in 2014. Grim was among the top two finishers in the 2018 primary, but was defeated in his re-election bid in the November 6, 2018 General Election by Ray Morriss.

Carey A. Walker finished fifth in the Primary Election for a position on the non-partisan Cumberland City Council. Finishing fourth in the November General Election he was unsuccessful in his bid for this office.

Herb "JR" Broll promised "No More Business As Usual" if elected to the office of Mayor of Cumberland. Broll secured 1,206 votes in the General Election in his loss to Brian Grim. A third candidate, Carol Taccino, had 461 votes.

Nicholas J. Scarpelli, whose family has long been active in the South Cumberland business and civic community, is a first time candidate seeking a seat on the Cumberland City Council in the 2010 election. Scarpelli sees job creation as the number one priority and a government more responsive to the citizens, where taxpayers are treated as consumers. As noted in the campaign ad which appeared in the August 31, 2010 edition of the Cumberland Times-News, James Ortiz serves as Scarpelli's campaign treasurer. Scarpelli's slogan was, "By Voting for Me You Help Me Help Cumberland". He was the top vote-getter and thus elected in the November 2, 2010 General Election.

Scarpelli, a Democrat, declined to run for re-election in 2014, but instead ran for the Maryland House of Delegates 1-C. He lost in the November 4, 2014 General Election to the Republican candidate, Mike McKay.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image