Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 35

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information

Mark L. Widmyer was one of three Republicans elected in 2010 as a Judge to the three-member Allegany County Orphans Court. Widmyer declined to run for re-election in 2014, but instead ran for the office of Allegany County Commissioner. He was defeated in the June 24, 2014 Republican Primary.

William (Wally) L.S. Walker, a Republican, immigrated to Allegany County from Scotland at the age of four and resided in the Frostburg area. Prior to his death in the late 1950s he was an unsuccessful candidate for the office of Allegany County Commissioner.

Robert Little Ebert (1916-2010), a Republican, was elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in 1962, and was re-elected in 1966 serving through 1970. The inside of this matchbook, from the election of November 6, 1970, notes that along with being "qualified and respected", Robert Little Ebert is:
- A Businessman - Manager and Treasurer of the S.T. Little Jewelry Company
- A Civic Leader - Chairman of the Allegany County Red Cross and a member of the Allegany County Commission for the Aging
- A Churchman- Vestryman and Church School Superintendent for Cumberland's Emmanuel Episcopal Church and First Vice-President of the Allegany County Council of Churches
- A veteran of World War II

For Good County Government Elect
- Ebert from Cumberland
- Shinnamon from LaVale
- Carder from Georges Creek

Anthony Rees, a Republican, immigrated to Allegany County from Wales in 1872, aged 19. At one point he served as an attaché (staff member) for ten years at the Allegany County Courthouse. Rees served on a county-wide committee in 1889 to plan for a celebration commemorating the 100th anniversary of the formation of Allegany County, as a representative of the Barton Lodge No. 94, I. O. O. F. Allegany Centennial Celebration. At the time of his death at the age of 54 from what was believed to be a stroke, Rees was favored to win the Republican nomination for Sheriff in the 1908 election.

George C. Edwards, a Republican, served in the Maryland House of Delegates from 1983-2007. In 2006, Edwards was elected to the Maryland State Senate where he has represented District 1 since 2007. He ran unopposed and was re-elected in 2010. District 1 includes all of Allegany and Garrett Counties and a portion of Washington County. Edwards again ran unopposed in 2014 for his re-election to the State Senate.

The Allegany County Conservative Tea Party Caucus was formed in 2010. Its main goals are to get the country back to fiscal and social conservative values, oppose the expansion of government and high taxation, and move the nation back toward constitutional principles. The local group notes that at least three of the eleven-member Allegany County Republican Central Committee elected in September 2010 are members of the organization. The coiled snake and the "Don't Tread on Me" slogan are from the Gadsden Flag which goes back to the 1770s and represents American liberty and patriotism. It is a symbol of the current Tea Party movement. This particular button was worn by members at a rally held on the Downtown Cumberland Mall on April 18, 2011, the day of the deadline for filing federal 2010 income taxes.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image