Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Cumberland Rotarians

Gormer, Giarritta, Brown and Schwab-Owens. 

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


On May 4, 1987 the U.S. Supreme Court ruled that women could not be excluded from Rotary on the basis of gender. The Rotary Club of Cumberland was established in 1921. Sixty-seven years later, in 1988, Anne Gormer became the first female member. Shirley Giarritta and Carolyn Brown also joined that year. In 1994 Amy Schwab-Owens was elected as the Cumberland Rotary Club's first woman President. (Al Feldstein had served as President in 1993 and Amy was his First Vice-President.)

Clockwise from top left -Anne Gormer, Carolyn Brown, Amy Schwab-Owens, and Shirley Giarritta


Text - Albert Feldstein

The photograph of Anne Gormer was provided by the Allegany Historical Society. Photographs of Carolyn Brown and Shirley Giarritta were provided by them. The photograph of Amy Schwab-Owens was taken by Al Feldstein.

Collection Location:
Allegany County

Allegany County (Md.)--Biography; Allegany County (Md.)--Women.

Allegany County, (Md.)

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image