Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 01

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Ursula Franklin (1937-2004) was elected to the Cumberland City Council in 1988 and served through 2000. She is one of only six women to have been successfully elected to this position. The button portrayed here is from 1998 when after winning in the Democratic Primary, she was unsuccessful in the General Election in her bid for Allegany County Commissioner.

Mary C. Miltenberger, a Republican and activist, has run for several local offices including that of Allegany County Commissioner in 1990 and 1998 as indicated by this button. A noteworthy incident that made headlines during her 1990 campaign was the explosion of a pipe bomb in her residence. Newspaper reports stated that the pipe bomb was strong enough “to have caused lethal damage.” In the November 4, 2014 General Election, Mary C. Miltenberger finished second in a three-way race for Mayor of Cumberland. She received over 800 votes or about 16% of the total cast.

Eadie Loffert, a Republican from LaVale, made an unsuccessful bid for Allegany County Commissioner in 1978

John W. (Moon) Stotler, a Democrat, was elected to and served on the Board of Allegany County Commissioners from 1990 through 1994. His motto was, “Your Vote Sincerely Appreciated.” Stotler also served two terms on the Cumberland City Council from 1974 through 1982.

Adrienne Ottaviani, a Democrat who later became a Republican, was elected to the Allegany County Board of Education and served in that office from January 1988 through December 1991. She had been elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in 1990 and served in that capacity until 1994, though technically staying in that office until January 3, 1995 when Dale Lewis’ term on the Board of Education concluded and he could be sworn in as Allegany County Commissioner. The “Yo Adrienne” button is a take-off on the popular 1976 movie, “Rocky.”

Dale R. Lewis, a Republican, was first elected to the Allegany County Board of Education in 1980. He was re-elected in 1984, lost in 1988, and was re-elected in 1990 and again in 1992. He was elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in 1994, and re-elected to that office in 1998. Lewis lost his re-election bid in 2002, but was voted in as Allegany County Commissioner in 2006. Lewis has also been elected to about four or five terms on the Allegany County Republican Central Committee. The buttons portray the slogans, “Getting the Job Done Right”, and “Leadership Does Make a Difference.” Dale Lewis lost his bid for re-election to County Commissioner in the September 14, 2010 Republican primary.

Tim Woodring served on the Allegany County Board of Education from January 1999 to December 2002. He was re-elected and again served from 2003 to December 2006. He chose not to run for re-election. Lynne S. Brodell served as Woodring’s campaign Treasurer.

Judith “Judie” Thelen was elected to and served on the Allegany County Board of Education from January 1997 to December 2000. She was successfully re-elected with the button slogan, “Makes Tough Decisions”, and served again from January 2001 to December 2004. Thelen had unsuccessfully run for the Board of Education some years earlier with the slogan, “Keep Politics Out of Education.” Thelen’s campaign Treasurer was C. Fred Hill.

Fred Sloan was a former city councilman and Mayor of Lonaconing, Maryland. He was first elected to the Allegany County Board of Education in January 2005. Sloan was re-elected in 2008. Born in 1945, Fred Sloan passed away in December 2009 while serving in office.

Dennis Boyd was an unsuccessful candidate for the office of Allegany County Commissioner in 1986, and again in 1990.

Arthur T. Bond, (1932-2017), a Republican, served two terms as a Frostburg City Councilman and was then elected Mayor of Frostburg and served in that position from 1972 to 1974. He was then elected and re-elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners four times between the years 1974 and 1990. Though defeated in his 1990 re-election bid, Bond was again elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in 1994 and held that office until 1998. Bond was again elected Mayor of Frostburg in 2006, and re-elected to that position in 2008 and 2010. Bond retired from public service in 2011. Arthur T. Bond had also been an unsuccessful candidate for the U.S. Congress in 1976. A picnic fundraiser held to benefit his campaign was held at Marydale on the afternoon of Sunday, September 19, 1976. As noted on the matchbook cover, “Your Vote and Support” was appreciated. Bond received 52,203 votes, or 29.16% of those cast." In total, Bond served five terms as Mayor of Frostburg and five as Commissioner making him the longest serving Allegany County Commissioner in history.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image