Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 02

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


C. Murray Allen, who simply identified himself as an “American”, along with John J. Yeager, a Democrat, and Republican Leon Connor, who promised “Effective and Efficient Government”, were all unsuccessful candidates for the office of Allegany County Commissioner.

George F. Helmstetter (1931-2012), a Republican, was also unsuccessful in his bid for County Commissioner. The following appeared on the back of his campaign card:
George Helmstetter
Fourth Generation Allegany Countian
Marine and Air Force Veteran
Skilled in Business Administration – Management – Public Relations
“Let’s Bring All the Communities and County Together”
For Better ELECTED Government”
“Cooperate” – “To Work Together”

William A. Wilson, a Republican, was appointed by the Governor to fill a vacancy on the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in 1957. He was elected to that office the following year in 1958, and served in the position until 1961 when he resigned to become a Judge of the Maryland Tax Court. Wilson was later elected to the Maryland State Senate, Legislative District 1-C in 1970 and served as a State Senator from 1971-1974. This District covered Garrett, as well as a portion of Allegany County.

Calvin H. Shank’s qualifications included being a life long resident of the county, a member of the AFL-CIO, and over 30 years in the dairy business. He was also unsuccessful despite noting his concern over increasing taxes and promising to work to improve education and bring new industry to the area.

Arthur T. Bond, (1932-2017), a Republican, served two terms as a Frostburg City Councilman and was then elected Mayor of Frostburg and served in that position from 1972 to 1974. He was then elected and re-elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners four times between the years 1974 and 1990. Though defeated in his 1990 re-election bid, Bond was again elected to the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in 1994 and held that office until 1998. Bond was again elected Mayor of Frostburg in 2006, and re-elected to that position in 2008 and 2010. Bond retired from public service in 2011. Arthur T. Bond had also been an unsuccessful candidate for the U.S. Congress in 1976. A picnic fundraiser held to benefit his campaign was held at Marydale on the afternoon of Sunday, September 19, 1976. As noted on the matchbook cover, “Your Vote and Support” was appreciated. Bond received 52,203 votes, or 29.16% of those cast." In total, Bond served five terms as Mayor of Frostburg and five as Commissioner making him the longest serving Allegany County Commissioner in history.

Ernest C. Kessell Jr. was elected to and served on the Cumberland City Council from 1970-1974, and again from 1978-1982. The fingernail file and button depicted here are from his unsuccessful bid for Allegany County Commissioner.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image