Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Allegany County Md. Campaign Buttons 21

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


William A. Wilson, a Republican, was elected to the Maryland State Senate, Legislative District 1-C in 1970 and served as a State Senator from 1971-1974. This District covered Garrett, as well as a portion of Allegany County.

Brian K. Grim, a Democrat, had as his motto in his 2006 campaign for the Maryland House of Delegates, “Leadership for the 21st. Century.” Though successful in the Primary, Grim lost to a Republican in the General Election. Grim was later elected to the Cumberland City Council in 2008 and then to the office of Mayor in November 2010, where he served through January 2019.

Frank N. “Bud” Willetts, a Republican, was a candidate for the Maryland House of Delegates in 2002. Although he garnered 1,955 votes, he was unsuccessful in the Republican Primary. Trudy Whitacre served as his campaign Treasurer.

Kevin Kelly, a Democrat, was first elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1986 and served from 1987 through 1995 when he was unsuccessful in his re-election bid. Kelly was again elected to the House of Delegates, District 1-B, in 1998. After several successful re-election campaigns, Kelly was defeated by the Republican candidate, Jason Buckel, in the 2014 General Election

Robert M. Hutcheson, (1932-2017) a Republican, was appointed by the Allegany County Republican State Central Committee to fill a vacancy on the Board of Allegany County Commissioners in October 2000. He was re-elected to that position in 2002 and again in 2006. Prior to that time, in 1986, Hutcheson made an unsuccessful attempt to win election to the Maryland House of Delegates. Bob Hutcheson lost his bid for re-election to County Commissioner in the September 14, 2010 Republican primary.

George C. Edwards, a Republican, was elected to the Maryland House of Delegates in 1982 and served in the House of Delegates from 1983-2007. He also served as House Minority (Republican) Leader between 2003-2007. Edwards represented Legislative District 1-A which included all of Garrett and a portion of Allegany Counties. In 2006, Edwards was elected to the Maryland State Senate where he has represented District 1 since 2007. He ran unopposed and was re-elected in 2010. Edwards again ran unopposed in the 2014 Primary and General Elections. Edwards was re-elected to this position in 2018

District 1 comprises all of Allegany and Garrett Counties as well as a portion of Washington County. Prior to that time Edwards served as a member of the Town Council of Grantsville (1972-1974, 1980-1982) and the Board of Garrett County Commissioners (1974-1978).

Alan Douglas, a Republican, lost to John J. Hafer in the 1990 Republican Primary for Maryland State Senate by about 170 votes. Hafer would then go onto defeat Daniel McMullen, a Democrat, in the General Election. Douglas’ campaign slogan was “He’ll Work”, and his campaign Treasurer was Chauncey (Clancy) M. Sanner.

John N. Bambacus, a Republican, was elected to the Maryland State Senate from District 1 in 1982 and served in the Maryland State Senate from 1983-1991. He was later elected Mayor of Frostburg where in served in that capacity from 1994-2002. James McFarland served as the Bambacus campaign Treasurer during this period.

Edward J. Mason, a Republican, was elected to the Maryland State Senate in 1970, and represented District 1 in the State Senate from 1971 through 1983 at which time he was defeated in his 1982 re-election bid. During this period, from 1975-1983, he also served as the State Senate Minority (Republican) leader. Howard Buchanan served as Mason’s campaign Treasurer.


Al Feldstein

Al Feldstein

Collection Location:
LaVale, Maryland

Campaign paraphernalia, Allegany County (Md.), History

Allegany County (Md.), 1970-2010

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image