Whilbr Heading
Search | Use Google Search

Words or Phrase:

Search Method Help Image

Left Nav Image    Home   |   Links   |   Contact Us   |   Facebook   |   Digital Whilbr
Yellow Bar image
Description ImageWhilbr Description


Collection Dropdown Image
Allegany County
Category Divider
Garrett County
Category Divider
Washington County
Category Divider
Civil War in Maryland
Category Divider
Genealogy Resources
Category Divider
Photographs and Prints
Garrett County Women's Hall of Fame

Click on the MEDIA ITEMS below for more information


Garrett County Women's Hall of Fame

Garrett County, Maryland was established in 1872. The Garrett County Women's Hall of Fame was established in 1995 to recognize the significant contributions of Garrett County's women throughout the area's history. Up to three women, historical or contemporary, can be selected each year. A selection committee reviews the nominations and makes its recommendations to the Garrett County Commission for Women which administers the program. The inductees are honored at a special event each year.

Depicted here are two representative women. The late Joan R. Crawford, who was inducted in 2003, was an instructor at Garrett Community College for more than thirty years. Beginning in 1972, she taught English and Journalism and also served as head of the Humanities Division.

Margaret J. (Peggy) Jamison was elected to the Oakland Town Council for three 2-year terms from 1990-1996, did not run for re-election in 1996 and then ran and was elected every two years from 1998-2010. She was appointed Acting Mayor in July 2009, and during that time actually served as Council President as well as Mayor. Jamison was elected to that position in March 2010, and re-elected Mayor in March 2012. She is the first woman to serve as Mayor of Oakland.

The following list identifies those women who have been inducted into the Garrett County Women's Hall of Fame since its inception in 1995:

1995 Polly Haunst*, Wilda Massi* and Ruth Ryan*
1996 Martha Jackowski* and Alta Schrock*
1997 Edith Brock* and Brenda Butcher
1998 Jane Avery* and Martha Glotfelty*
1999 Roberta Anderson, Ruth DePaolo* and Mary Love*
2000 Alice Hevner and Nelle Stemple*
2001 Dorothy Leighton* and Phyllis Trickett
2002 Beverly Beard, Patricia Bowser, and Mary Strauss*
2003 Joan Crawford*, Barbara Flinn, and Mary Ellen Lichty
2004 Bea Crosco*, Mildred Dunbar, and Mary Jones
2005 Susan Athey-Oxford, Cleta Baker*, and Linda Fleming Glotfelty
2006 Peggy Jamison, Mary Mosser* and Larilla Tower*
2007 Patience Williams Grant*, Helen Louise Harned Kahl* and Shirley MacLane
2008 Helen Earles, Charlotte Sebolt and Donna McClintock Fost
2009 Virgina Groves, Henrietta Lease and Linda Buckel
2010 Debra Friend, Helen Harman* and Gail Herman
2011 Betty Ellington and Carolyn Ganoe
2012 Linda Fike, Marilyn Moors and Grace Jones*
2013 Donna Broadwater, Jeanette Rudy Fitzwater and Pat White-Moore
2014 Nancy Leary* and Brenda Brosnihan
2015 Karen Myers, Hannah Sincell and Brenda McDonnell
2016 Evelyn L. Heise, Louella Hinebaugh and Mercedes Pellet
2017 Ruth Umberl, Carol Gregg and Brenda McCartney
2018 Caroline Blizzard, Dr. Dana McCauley and Maj. Gen. Melissa Rank

* Indicates those women who are deceased as of April 25, 2017

Information supplied by Joanne Harsh of the Garrett County Commission for Women and from articles appearing in the Cumberland Times-News and The Republican


Text - Albert Feldstein

Photographs: Joan Crawford photograph, provided by Peggy Santamaria, is courtesy of Garrett College.
The Peggy Jamison photograph, taken in 2013, courtesy of Albert Feldstein

Information on other members of the Garrett Women's Hall members who are found on this website can be found at Alta Schrock and The photographs of Mary Miller Strauss of Accident, Maryland

Collection Location:
Allegany County

Allegany County (Md.)--Biography; Allegany County (Md.)--Women.

Allegany County, (Md.)

Western Maryland Regional Library
100 South Potomac Street
Hagerstown, Maryland 21740

Footer Image     Contact Webmaster  |  Copyright Information Top Line Image